Storyline: Recommended Workflow for Collaborative Network Environments

Article Last Updated

This article applies to:

Follow this workflow when sharing a Storyline project with other developers in your network:

  1. After creating, editing, or publishing a Storyline project on your local hard drive, copy the project file to your network drive for storage and sharing.
  2. When you need to edit or publish the story again, copy it back to your local hard drive.
  3. Edit and publish as necessary.
  4. Repeat steps 1-3.

By working with the project files on your local hard drive, you'll prevent loss of resources, file corruption, and other erratic behavior that can occur due to network latency.

Also, check out this article by Tom Kuhlmann for information and video instructions on using a couple of free applications that'll synchronize your local files with a network drive.

What's the recommended workflow for collaborating on and publishing Storyline 360 projects to Reach 360?

When you want to collaborate on and publish a Storyline 360 project to Reach 360 with teammates, start by making a copy of the project's .story file on your desktop. Then, share it with your teammates for collaboration. Since copies of the original .story file contain the same project identifier, publishing the copy updates the current version of the training in Reach 360.

You can also follow the workflow described above when collaborating with developers outside your team. However, developers on different subscriptions can't publish training to your Reach 360 account library. You'll need to publish a copy of the original .story file with their updates for the training to display in your Reach 360 account library.

Note: When you save a project as a new file, Storyline 360 assumes it is a new course and generates a new project identifier. When published, the project will show up as a new training in Reach 360.

See also: Tips to Reduce Your Risk of Corrupting or Losing Project Files